Industry Insider – Brand Safety Webinar

Industry Insider is a new IAB Europe format to provide real learnings and insights from leading industry companies from white papers to webinars! Kicking off on the 28th November, the first Industry Insider will be a webinar on brand safety. Still considered one of the industry’s biggest challenges, brand safety has become a key priority for all stakeholders from platforms to publishers. 

The webinar will be introduced and moderated by IAB Europe. Speakers include GroupM, Oracle Data Cloud and Facebook.

The speakers will cover the following topics: 

  • Market analysis – What has changed over the year and what still needs to change? 
  • Market accountability – What the key players are doing to safeguard brands and combat fraud?
  • Market development – What is the next stage in brand safety and how is technology evolving to support this?

AGENDA & PRESENTATION DETAILS

14.00 – 14.10 GMT (15.00 – 15.10 CET): Welcome and Introduction from IAB Europe’s Chief Economist, Daniel Knapp. 

14.10 – 14.25 GMT (15.10 – 15.25 CET): Market analysis, key developments and next steps

Bethan Crockett, Senior Director Brand Safety, Digital Risk, EMEA, GroupM 

Bethan will present a market analysis looking at recent developments and ongoing challenges. Bethan will give a summary of actions the key players have taken to eliminate fraud and safeguard brands and will look at the future of brand safety and evolutions in technology.

14.25 – 14.30 GMT (15.25 – 15.30 CET): Q&A with Bethan Crockett

14.30 – 14.45 GMT (15.30 – 15.45 CET): Brand Safety to Brand Suitability: Using Technology to Make the News Less Scary

Derek Wise, VP Product, Context, Oracle Data Cloud and Alex Payne, VP Global Programmatic Solutions, VICE Media

Derek and Alex will discuss the importance of moving from brand safety (the practice of blocking keywords that ‘scare’ brands) to brand suitability, which favours brand-specific, custom approaches to understanding the granular nuance of content in order to achieve more accurate categorisation. 

They will cover:

    • The perils of using one-size-fits-all solutions: keywords will let you down
    • The importance of nuanced, brand suitable categorisation, particularly for premium publishers — Vice case study
    • How to deal with brand suitability on user generated content (UGC)
    • Vision for the future of brand suitability

14.45 – 14.50 GMT (15.45 – 15.50 CET): Q&A with Oracle Data Cloud

14.50 – 15.10 GMT (15.50 – 16.10 CET): A Facebook perspective

Thiago Gomes, Product Marketing Manager Growth, EMEA, Facebook 

Thiago leads the Video and Brand Safety growth strategies for the EMEA region at Facebook, where he has been since 2011.

 Thiago will present:

  • Brand Safety at Facebook Overview
  • How we keep the community Safe (CSER)
  • Brand Safety controls for Advertisers
  • New controls launched / 2020 roadmap

15.10 – 15.20 GMT (16.10 – 16.20 CET): Q&A with Thiago. Guests will have the opportunity to ask Thiago anything!

15.20 – 15.30 GMT (16.20 – 16.30 CET): Summary and close of the live stream from IAB Europe’s Chief Economist, Daniel Knapp. 15.30 – 16.00 GMT (16.30 – 17.00 CET): Q&A plus Networking drinks for those joining in person

Speakers:

Thiago Gomes, Product Marketing Manager Growth, EMEA, Facebook

With over 12 years of experience in product marketing, advertising, sales and communication strategic planning across Latin America, North America and EMEA, Thiago is now Product Manager leading the Video and Brand Safety growth strategies for the EMEA region at Facebook, where he has been since 2011.

Bethan Crockett, Digital Risk Director, GroupM EMEA

With 16 years of experience working on the front line of digital advertising at Yahoo! then Microsoft, Bethan started her career in display advertising and then moved to search operations, before joining GroupM in 2015. Her current focus is on media quality and data integrity policy, process and governance to support GroupM’s digital strategy.

Alex Payne, VP, Global Programmatic Solutions, VICE Media

Alex is VP of Global Programmatic Solutions for VICE Media, based in their London office. He has worked for VICE for seven and a half years and currently leads the Company's programmatic advertising solutions with a focus on vendor relationships, product features and integrations, as well as operations that span the complete sales workflow from promotion, point of sale, performance analytics and revenue recognition.

Derek Wise, VP Product, Context, Oracle Data Cloud

Derek is Vice President of Product at Oracle Data Cloud where he leads product management for context solutions. He is a technologist at heart with a passion for people and process management. Prior to this role, Derek was the Chief Technology Officer of Grapeshot, acquired by Oracle Data Cloud in 2018. His background includes more than 10 years of operating infrastructure as a service (IaaS) offerings at various companies, including GNi, which he founded.

Derek’s extensive experience also includes building software teams in the areas of artificial intelligence in pharmaceutical research, online games, and open API platforms. His background in the U.S. Marines gave him insights into a wide range of communications security practice. Derek has a strong interest in Agile and product development processes that put the customer at the center of design.


For in person attendance, attendees can register from 13.15 -13.30 GMT. Please note all attendees will need to be registered by 13.30. Registration will be followed by coffee and networking until the webinar starts at 14.00 GMT. The webinar will be followed by networking drinks. For members joining virtually the live stream will start at 14.00 GMT / 15.00 CET. 

Sign up and secure your space!
IAB Europe members can contact Marie-Clare for the live audience and virtual audience registration links.

Lines (1)